Attractions & Entertainment

Ben Boyd's Tower (1846) - Eden | Eden

Ben Boyd's Tower is one of only two lighthouses in Australia that have never provided light. The tower was built by Benjamin Boyd who planned to develop a town on the southern side of Twofold Bay notwithstanding that the local council limited development to the northern side of the bay. The structure is a magnificent square sandstone tower with five windows on each quarter.

Booby Island (1890) | Booby Island

Booby Island Lighthouse stands on Booby Island in the Torres Straight and named by Captain Cook after the birds that inhabit the island. The outer facing of galvanised plate is supported by internal wooden frames. The light source was converted to solar power in 1991.

Bustard Head (1868) - Gladstone | Gladstone

Bustard Head Lighthouse is constructed from pre-fabricated cast iron panels imported from England and bolted together on the site.

Cape Byron (1901) - Byron Bay | Byron Bay

Cape Byron Lighthouse with a range of 50km stands on the most easterly point of Australia. The lighthouse is constructed from solid concrete blocks. At 2.2 million candelas Cape Byron Lighthouse is Australia's most powerful light.

Cape Cleveland (1879) - Townsville | Townsville

Cape Cleveland Lighthouse was constructed using glavanised iron sheets supported by an internal wooden structure. Up until 1987 the keeper was required to wind the clockwork every 75 minutes.

Cape Don - Coburg Peninsula | Coburg Peninsula

Cape Don lighthouse was built in 1917 from reinforced concrete. The gravel used in the concrete was sourced from Melbourne. In 1983 the light source was changed to solar power. Accommodation available in the light keeper's houses through Cape Don Experience Wilderness Lodge.

Cape St George (1860) - Jervis Bay | Jervis Bay

Cape St George Lighthouse was built on a site of little use to shipping. Apparently the builder, in order to save construction costs, decided to construct the lighthouse at a point closest to the quarry used to obtain sandstone for its construction. Another lighthouse was located at Point Perpendicular some 40 years later. In 1913 the lighthouse was destroyed by naval gun ships that used the tower...

Crowdy Head (1878) - Crowdy Head | Crowdy Head

Built from natural stone Crowdy Head Lighthouse was converted to acetylene in 1920 and converted to 240 volt mains power in 1972. The lighthouse is the last of the towers built on the Northern New South Wales coast.

Double Island Point (1884) | Double Island Point

Double Island Point Lighthouse stands on the point named by Captain Cook in 1770. He noted on approach that the apparent two islands became one. The lighthouse structure consists of external welded iron sheets supported by an internal wooden frame.

Fingal Head (1872) - Fingal Head | Fingal Head

A cement rendered brick tower standing on magnificent Fingal Head. Originally powered by kerosene lamp.

Gabo Island (1862) - Mallacoota | Mallacoota

For seafarers and particularly the early tea and wool clippers the appearance of Gabo Island on the port side under a southerly breeze meant the end of the 6,000km journey through the murderous seas of the Roaring Forties and the sometimes pleasant journey up the New South Wales coastline to Port Jackson. Whether intentional or not Gabo Island Lighthouse built in 1862 is a fine monument to the awe...

Goose Island (1846) - Bass Strait | Goose Island

Goose Island Lighthouse also as the case with Deal Island Lighthouse was constructed to provide safe passage for ships travelling west into Banks Straight or south across Bass Straight to Georgetown or Devonport. Goose Island is a low-lying island with a perimeter of extraordinary glass-like granite boulders. The lighthouse stands as a solitary figure surrounded by scrub and mountainous seas. Sola...

Grassy Hill (1886) - Cooktown | Cooktown

The shanty-like ironclad Grassy Hill Lighthouse is memorable for the reason that it marks the spot where Captain Cook once stood in order to find a way through the Great Barrier Reef after his ship was wrecked on Endeavour Reef.

Montague Island (1881) - Narooma | Narooma

As recently as 8000 years ago Montague Island was a headland on the coast of Australia. Montague Island Lighthouse is built from magnificent grey granite blocks quarried on the north side of the island. The lighthouse has a magnificent wrought iron balcony and was converted to solar power in 1986.

Norah Head (1903) - Norah Head | Norah Head

Built in concrete blocks and faithful to the James Barnet style, Norah Head Lighthouse. Converted from kerosene to mains power in 1961.

North Reef (1878) - Capricorn Channel | North Reef

North Reef Lighthouse is a magnificent welded iron tower supported by an internal wooden frame. The whole structure stands on a large concrete base that once served as a store for freshwater. Today the concrete base has been surrounded by sand.

Point Lonsdale (1902) - Queenscliff | Queenscliff

Point Lonsdale marks the western entrance of the narrow channel into Port Phillip Bay. The present Point Lonsdale Lighthouse was built in concrete in 1902 to replace an earlier wooden structure erected in 1863.

Point Quobba (1950) - Shark Bay, Carnarvon. | Carnarvon

Point Quobba Lighthouse marks the entrance to Geographe Channel and Shark Bay. The lighthouse is of modern concrete construction built along classical lines.

Point Stephens (1862) - Fingal Bay | Fingal Bay

Port Stephens Lighthouse was designed by colonial architect Alexander Dawson and constructed from Hawkesbury River sandstone. The light source was converted to mains power in 1973.

Port Malcolm (1878) – Lake Alexandrina | Lake Alexandrina

Point Malcolm Lighthouse is the only inland lighthouse in Australia and was built to assist ships passing through Lake Alexandrina on their way to Lake Albert or the Murray River.